Crisis and Opportunity

So, 100 napkins, 10 more aprons and 12 tote bags later and I can’t wait to do more! I am literally buzzing (if you have ever used a sewing machine, you’ll know what I mean).

I’ve been doing a lot of reflection and looking forward recently, and although I should be utterly freaking out, I’m really excited about what the future holds.

I should explain myself. I’m about to be made officially redundant (the end of this month). I’ve made my way nicely through a three year contract working for a charity and now I’m coming to the end. I can’t find a job and I’m not entirely sure I want to, in fact, I don’t…yeah, I don’t want a job, not the traditional kind at the moment anyway.

Yesterday I heard a great thing on the radio, ‘crisis’ and ‘opportunity’ is the same word in chinese. This pretty much sums up what I’m going through at the moment. I could be very worried about my lack of ability to pay the mortgage and buy the food, and yes, there is a certain element of that weighing on my mind. To be honest though, after a bit of a manic period I’m pretty peaceful with my situation. In the past three years I have just about learnt to not waste my time worrying about my given situation and beating myself up about it, but doing something about it and most importantly, learning from it. I believe that everything that happened to us, good or bad, makes us who we are, and that’s a pretty cool thing.

I must make it very clear that I haven’t come to this conclusion on my own. Recent events and amazing, beautiful, supportive and patient friends and mentors in my life have really helped (sometimes forced) me to see it. One thing I’m not great with is outward displays of emotion or physical contact, but I really hope those people know who they are. Of course, one of those people is Ross and his love and support is truly second to none.

So, the next few months making and selling is not just about paying the bills, but following the path that I, we, want to and seeing where it takes us. Part of that has already meant making connections with Some great people. This week, I have shared a brownie recipe with another artist from California, Polychrome Palace and celebrated the re-opening of an Etsy shop with a fellow sewer, Sew Serious, from Denver, USA. How cool is that? The magic of the net!

So, it all seems a bit big and scary and impossible at the moment but as Walter Elias Disney once said, ‘It’s kind of fun to do the impossible’.

Until next time…

Tab, Ross, Boswell and Bessie.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Crisis and Opportunity

  1. Hey there lovelies! Tab, you may not realise just how much of a supporter and an inspiration YOU are to others, but I can assure you that you are. If anybody can make redundancy an opportunity (nay, a brilliant success!) it’s you. Now, go and polish up that halo, give Bessie a five minute break, give that man of yours a big hug and go for it!!! Oh, and dont forget to say hello to Boswell too….

  2. Thank you for the mention. 🙂 The recipe is wonderful! And hubby was bummed because he’s supposed to be eating healthier for his cholesterol, but I’m pregnant so I eat what sounds good. 🙂 Thanks again! And I really hope you find a job soon, or that your creative job flourishes so that you can get those darn bills paid. It’s too bad we have to worry about those things huh? Glad you aren’t stressing too bad over the situation. Things do have a way of working out eventually. Take care!

  3. Libby

    What a great attitude and love the thing about crisis and opportunity- did you know the Chinese word for crisps is the same as the one for space hopper? Could I be wrong there?

  4. hmunro

    I, too, had a creeping sense of crisis when I found myself “redundant” in 2007. But with the benefit of hindsight, I now realize that my job’s evaporation provided opportunities I never knew existed. So take courage and embrace this moment, and the opportunities it will bring. I have no doubt that your business will be a raging success. (How can I buy one of your adorable aprons?!)

    • “redundant” – it’s possibly one of the worst words that could be used for this situation right?
      I love hearing about people who’ve made the best out of leaving the traditional workplace, it sounds like it’s gone really well for you! I hope I can be saying a similar thing in the next few months/years. I can’t tell you what a thrill it is to know that someone so far away has seen Boswell and likes what we do!
      We are aiming to be selling via our Etsy shop by next weekend. There will be 5 apron designs to start off with along with a whole bunch of other products. We will be announcing our launch on the blog so watch this space.
      We’ll also be announcing it on our twitter: http://www.twitter.com/boswellbramley
      And facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Boswell-Bramley-and-Co/103791439700854 just click ‘like’.
      Thank you again for all your support, we will definitely embrace the moment (that’s going on my chalkboard!).

      Tab, Ross and Boswell

  5. Thank you all for your votes of confidence and inspiration! I’d like a packet of space hoppers please Libby!

  6. Dave Fincham

    What a cracking bunch of folk you are! I bow to your take on things – it’s inspirational – hats off to you 🙂 All the very best, you deserve it.
    Dave

Leave a Reply

